Telescope

INVINCIBLE - ACADEMY AWARDS® NOMINATION - BEST LIVE ACTION SHORT FILM

Written &Directed by Vincent René-Lortie

Produced by Samuel Caron & Élise Lardinois

International Sales & Distribution by H264 Distribution

In an ode to the memory of his childhood friend, Director Vincent René-Lortie delicately depicts the tale of a young man dealing with self-destructive impulses whilst still yearning for his freedom. 

ABOUT THE DIRECTOR

Vincent René-Lortie is a Canadian film director and screenwriter known for his grounded, dreamlike narratives. His work is a testament to purposeful and deeply personal storytelling, intended to make his audience reflect on themes such as mental health and childhood. He is a graduate of Montreal’s Mel Hoppenheim School of Cinema, and is a member of the Young Guns ’20 class, an award ceremony dedicated to creatives under 30 from across the globe. INVINCIBLE (2022), his debut narrative short, has garnered several international accolades since it has been rewarded at Clermont-Ferrand. Most recently, Vincent has been focusing on bringing to life the experimental film LA PEAU DE L'AUTRE (2023), currently in post-production, and is developing his first feature film, YOU WERE ALWAYS AN ISLAND.

DIRECTOR’S NOTE

On July 5th, 2008, I learned that my best friend Marc-Antoine Bernier had tragically died at the age of 14 after driving a stolen car into a river. I will never forget the overwhelming feelings of sadness and incomprehension I felt that day. Feelings that have followed me ever since.

Marc and I were the same age, we had the same friends and went to the same school. But suddenly, everything changed. Over the course of a year, Marc went from being a bright, curious, loving boy to an angry and troubled young man. This person with whom I once shared an immense connection and friendship had become totally unrecognizable to me and those close to him.

Invincible is the end of a long and complex chapter in my life. Marc’s death raised many complicated questions to which I didn’t yet have the answers. But, through making this film, I found a way to dive into that dark, tragic abyss in order to better understand my friend and the decisions that led up to his death. I learned more about Marc and, more broadly, mental health and behavioral issues that many teenagers face daily.

I hope this film will raise more questions and draw awareness to the incomprehension that is still very strong in our society towards teenage mental health. Becoming aware of these stories and opening dialogues may help us prevent events like Marc’s.

FESTIVALS AND DISTINCTIONS

QUÉBEC CINÉMA GALA, 2023 *BEST LIVE ACTION SHORT FILM* Festival REGARD, 2023 *GRAND JURY PRIZE

Chicago Children’s Film Festival, 2022 *BEST FICTION SHORT FILM — Oscar-Qualifying

International Short Film Festival of Clermont-Ferrand, 2023 *SPECIAL INTERNATIONAL JURY AWARD

Cinema on the Bayou, 2023 *SPECIAL JURY PRIZE – FICTION SHORT FILM

Rendez-vous Québec Cinéma, 2023 *BEST FICTION SHORT FILM AWARD

Thessaloniki International Short Film Festival, 2022 *CINEMATIC ACHIEVEMENT AWARD

Brussels Short Film Festival, 2023 *BEST PERFORMANCE – LÉOKIM BEAUMIER-LÉPINE

Gala Prends Ça Court!, 2023 *MELS SHORT FILM CUP *UNION DES ARTISTES AWARD – MALE PERFORMANCE TO LÉOKIM BEAUMIER-LÉPINE *CINELUME AWARD *METAFILMS AWARD *OBJECTIF 9 AWARD *COLONELLE FILMS AWARD – CINEMATOGRAPHY

Formentera Film Festival, 2023 *SPECIAL MENTION

Valencia International Film Festival – Cinema Jove, 2023 *AUDIENCE AWARD – BEST SHORT FILM

Curtas Vila do Conde, 2023 *MY GENERATION AWARD

  1. INVINCIBLE - FOR YOUR CONSIDERATION
    Vincent René-Lortie
    2022

TELESCOPE

Telescope

INVINCIBLE - NOMINÉ AUX OSCARS® - MEILLEUR COURT-MÉTRAGE

Un film de Vincent René-Lortie

Produit par Samuel Caron & Élise Lardinois (Telescope Films)

Ventes Internationales & Distribution: H264 Distribution

Dans une ode à la mémoire de son ami d'enfance, le réalisateur Vincent René-Lortie dépeint avec délicatesse l'histoire d'un jeune homme luttant contre des impulsions autodestructrices tout en aspirant toujours à sa liberté.

À PROPOS DU RÉALISATEUR

Vincent René-Lortie est un réalisateur et scénariste canadien reconnu pour ses récits réalistes aux touches oniriques. Son travail est un témoignage d'une narration réfléchie et profondément personnelle, visant à amener son public à réfléchir sur des thèmes tels que la santé mentale et l'enfance. Il est diplômé de l'École de cinéma Mel Hoppenheim de Montréal et fait partie de la promotion « Young Guns '20 », une cérémonie de remise de prix dédiée aux créatifs de moins de 30 ans du monde entier. INVINCIBLE (2022), son premier court métrage narratif, a reçu plusieurs distinctions internationales depuis sa récompense à Clermont-Ferrand. Plus récemment, Vincent s'est concentré sur la réalisation du film expérimental LA PEAU DE L'AUTRE (2023), actuellement en post-production, et développe son premier long métrage, CE QUI NOUS SÉPARE.

NOTE DU RÉALISATEUR

Le 5 juillet 2008, j’apprenais la mort de mon meilleur ami Marc-Antoine Bernier, âgé de 14 ans, après qu’il eut plongé dans les eaux de la Rivière-des-Prairies au volant de la voiture qu’il conduisait. Je me souviendrai toujours de cet instant; une vague de peine, de douleur, mais surtout d’incompréhension m’envahit aussitôt et celle-ci me suivra tout au long de mon adolescence.

Marc et moi avions le même âge, les mêmes amis et allions à la même école. Et pourtant, en un an à peine, tout a basculé. Marc est passé d’un enfant surdoué, débordant d’énergie et d’amour, à un jeune garçon instable et troublé psychologiquement. Celui avec qui je croyais partager une immense connexion est alors devenu méconnaissable à mes yeux et à ceux de ses proches.

Invincible est pour moi l’aboutissement d’un long et complexe chapitre de ma vie. La mort de Marc ayant soulevé chez moi plusieurs questions sans réponse, ma passion pour le cinéma m’a donné une occasion inespérée de déterrer cet événement tragique et de tenter de le comprendre. Au cours de mes recherches, j’ai grandement appris sur la santé mentale de Marc, mais aussi, sur les problèmes de comportement chez plusieurs jeunes de cet âge.

J’espère que ce film fera réfléchir, qu’il transformera l’incompréhension de la société vis-à-vis des jeunes comme Marc et qu’il soulèvera des questions sur l’importance de mieux saisir la réalité de la santé mentale chez les adolescents.

FESTIVALS ET DISTINCTIONS

GALA QUÉBEC CINÉMA, 2023 *MEILLEUR COURT MÉTRAGE DE FICTION*

Festival REGARD, 2023 *GRAND PRIX DU JURY

Chicago Children’s Film Festival, 2022 *MEILLEUR COURT MÉTRAGE DE FICTION — Oscar-Qualifying

Festival International de Clermont-Ferrand, 2023 *PRIX SPÉCIAL DU JURY INTERNATIONAL

Cinema on the Bayou, 2023 *PRIX SPÉCIAL DU JURY – COURT MÉTRAGE DE FICTION

Rendez-vous Québec Cinéma, 2023 *PRIX DU MEILLEUR COURT MÉTRAGE DE FICTION

Thessaloniki International Short Film Festival, 2022 *PRIX DE LA RÉALISATION CINÉMATOGRAPHIQUE

Brussels Short Film Festival, 2023 *MEILLEURE PERFORMANCE – LÉOKIM BEAUMIER-LÉPINE

Gala Prends Ça Court!, 2023 *COUPE DU COURT MELS *PRIX UNION DES ARTISTES – INTERPRÉTATION MASCULINE À LÉOKIM BEAUMIER-LÉPINE *PRIX CINELUME *PRIX METAFILMS *PRIX OBJECTIF 9 *PRIX COLONELLE FILMS – DIRECTION PHOTO

Formentera Film Festival, 2023 *MENTION SPÉCIALE

Valencia International Film Festival – Cinema Jove, 2023 *PRIX DU PUBLIC – MEILLEUR COURT MÉTRAGE

Curtas Vila do Conde, 2023 *MY GENERATION AWARD

  1. INVINCIBLE - OFFICIAL TRAILER
    Vincent René-Lortie
    2022

TELESCOPE